Thread: diesel

Default diesel

Ok, I think putting a diesel in 715 would be neet but I dont know alot about it. Is it possible to put one in and keep the Trans and T-case factory? How much dollars are we talking? I hear there is a company that does this but not sure who. Any info on this would be great! Thanks I'm new at this.....

Well I'm not an expert, but I'll get it started.

Many members here have put in a Cummins 4BT diesel motor. Others have put in a 6.2 liter or 6.5 liter Chevy/GM diesel motor. I've even heard tell that a ford Powerstroke has been put in from time to time. Then there have been a few who have shoehorned in things like a Cummins 6BT, Isuzu, and others.

MARS makes a conversion kit for the Herculies diesel motor, but I don't know how much the motor and kit cost. Their website is http://www.kiva.net/~mars/index.html , but it has been under construction for a long time now, but it gives the phone number and you could call and see about the kit.

As for transmission etc. If your going to keep the stock trans you will most likely need an adaptor plate of some kind to join the motor and trans together. Many people feel that for the money that they are investing in the motor they might as well replace the transmission by using the one already attached to the motor and upgrading to the NP 205 or similar transfercase for better roadablity.

Cost will vary. I mean if you could somehow find a motor and trans for say free then your cost is going to nothing compaired to the guy who buys a new in the crate motor and trans from the manufacture. So it's hard to say it's going to cost you X dollars.

I hope this helps.
    Zone holster maker

The absolute easiest diesel swap is the 6.2/6.5, with a Chevy transmission. The extra expense to keep the old transmission is worth considering. The 6.2/6.5 hold up in these trucks ok, and fit just fine.