ForumsBasic TrainingOnline Maintenance ManualsThe M715 Zone Vin RegistryVPW's M715 Parts ListGalleriesLinks

Go Back   M715 Zone > General Tech > Modified Tech

Modified Tech Tech forums for Modified M715 series vehicles

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old November 11th, 2008, 07:40 PM
ken ruhland ken ruhland is offline
Basic Trainee
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cincinnati Ohio
Posts: 44
ken ruhland is a Soldier
Default chevy 350 and turbo 400

I am in the process of putting a 350 and turbo 400 in my truck. I have just the engine set in and after measuring trans length realized it sits back too far. Has anyone tried cutting off the engine frame horns and moving them? I know randyscycle has this set up with a big block and wonder if he made longer mounts. I really do not want to move the transfer case. The original engine will never go back in this truck and i want it to look factory without a mount that looks 6 inches off the factory mounts. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old November 11th, 2008, 07:47 PM
randyscycle's Avatar
randyscycle randyscycle is offline
Staff Sergeant
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Rhoadesville, Virginia (five miles from no place)
Posts: 5,396
randyscycle is a Soldier
Default

I did make new frame mounts, rather than the "Spicer Plate" It was the only choice I had as someone had torched off the mounts in my truck long before I got it. I like it better that way anyhow, rather than leveraging a flat steel plate off the factory frame mount.

Here they are. Just DOM tube and some reinforcement plates:

__________________
"Free advice is worth what you pay for it."
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old November 12th, 2008, 06:41 AM
osut362's Avatar
osut362 osut362 is online now
Private 1st Class
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Lindale, Texas
Posts: 268
osut362 is a Soldier
Default

there are different lengths for the TH400. a long tail 400 may be too long any way you do it. sorry i don't know exact but as i understand it there are 3 different TH400 lengths. do you know which 400 you have? just a thought.....al
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old November 12th, 2008, 12:39 PM
randyscycle's Avatar
randyscycle randyscycle is offline
Staff Sergeant
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Rhoadesville, Virginia (five miles from no place)
Posts: 5,396
randyscycle is a Soldier
Default

I used the short shaft TH400 and it is about as long as you could go without moving the transfer case. A long shaft probably wouldn't work at all as it is about 8 inches longer or so.

I wasn't aware they made anything other than a short and long tailshaft.
__________________
"Free advice is worth what you pay for it."
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old November 12th, 2008, 03:00 PM
Tomahawk715's Avatar
Tomahawk715 Tomahawk715 is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: UP-Michigan
Posts: 563
Tomahawk715 is a Soldier
Default

Turbo 350 is quite a bit shorter than the 400. I'm looking at switching to auto-I've got an R4 a 400 and a 350 that I can use. The R4 and 400 are very close to each other but the 350 is wayyyy shorter. As I'm going to rebuild whichever I choose anyway-I'm going to go with the 350 just for ease of installation. You can build a pretty stout 350. Just a thought

If your going to have to move everything else around at some point is seems easier to just change transfer cases and driveshafts eh?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old November 16th, 2008, 06:36 AM
ken ruhland ken ruhland is offline
Basic Trainee
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cincinnati Ohio
Posts: 44
ken ruhland is a Soldier
Default

Thanks for the input. I am using a short shaft 400. My plan is to leave the transfer case where it is in case a driveshaft breaks i can replace one without having to have custom ones made every time. It looks like i only need about
5 or 6 inches and theres plenty of room to go forward.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old November 16th, 2008, 03:38 PM
randyscycle's Avatar
randyscycle randyscycle is offline
Staff Sergeant
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Rhoadesville, Virginia (five miles from no place)
Posts: 5,396
randyscycle is a Soldier
Default

With a short shaft TH400 and a BB Chevy this is what I ended up using between the transfer and trasmission. The small block will let you go forward more, but you'll probably have to still cut the stub shaft down some with the automatic transmission.



__________________
"Free advice is worth what you pay for it."
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
6.5 turbo foodstamp Open Discussion 21 April 3rd, 2011 10:12 PM
chevy 6.2L with 350 turbo solekaukini Modified Tech 11 April 25th, 2008 08:16 PM
chevy 350/turbo 400 recommendations Nuke_HammerinGreenBay Modified Tech Archives 2 May 25th, 2004 08:20 PM
Turbo 350 question??? jzoliver Modified Tech Archives 7 May 17th, 2004 09:32 PM
350 / 400 turbo swap Nuke_wanger Modified Tech Archives 3 April 12th, 2004 04:56 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:38 AM.

 

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
1998 - 2019


This site is owned and operated by:
M715 Zone, LLC
President: Jon Schmidt, User ID=brute4c
If you have any suggestions, comments, problems or questions, contact:  brute4c@m715zone.com

Use of this site means you understand and agree to our TERMS OF USE

Copyright Notice:
This web site is subject to the protection of the copyright laws of the United States and other countries. Except for Personal Use Only, you may not modify, copy, distribute, transmit, display, perform, reproduce, publish, license, create derivative works from, transfer, or sell any information obtained from any part of the M715 Zone website without the prior written permission of M715 Zone, LLC.

Written permission can only be obtained by contacting
brute4c@m715zone.com

Copyright 1998-2019