Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Electric fan control

Default Electric fan control

Anyone run an electric fan? I bought a Mark VIII fan to use-big SOB-18 inch thing Ford used. What do you use for a controller? Switch? Thermostat switch? I've heard DC control makes one that "ramps" up the fan as needed depending on the temp.

I have been using electric fans on vehicles for many years. I have yet to find an "automatic" controller that last more than a few years. Everytime they failed, I was pulling a trailer in the middle of a Texas summer in traffic. I converted all the vehicles with electric fans over to a manual switch controlled by me.

When I put the Big Block in the 715 I had a twin Taurus fan set up on the stock 230 radiator. I blew a the fuse for the fans somehow and it got up to 220 before I figured out the fan wasn't working. When I swapped in the Summit aluminum radiator, I went back to a non clutched mechanical fan. Less to keep up with and works everytime.

My Mini is still electric, but I don't drive it in the summer. My '66K20 is still electric fan and 200 on the gauge is "good" for a summer trailer pull.

Everybody likes something different so don't let me be the deciding factor. But, I went all electric on my stuff and have gradually switched back.
    Remember if you didn't build it you can't call it yours.

6.2 powered M715, 5 M1009's, M416, 2 M101's, 2 M105's, 3 M35's, M1007 6.5 turbo Suburban project called Cowdog.

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCCz...HGkBCfhXZ5iuaw

The last controler I used had to be bypassed at the '04FE.
    Since all my stuff has a good temp guage I just use a switch for the fan. I like it as in the cold weather it lets me warm up the engine a little faster - in the summer I usually just flip the switch as soon as I start up.

painless wiring has some nice setups... all preterminated harnesses and leads.