Thread: aaron871 : Quadrajet is Idling too Rich? Basic adjustments...

Default aaron871 : Quadrajet is Idling too Rich? Basic adjustments...

Quadrajet is Idling too Rich? Basic adjustments...
    Post by aaron871 on Apr 22, 2006, 9:13pm

I am NOT good at working on carbs. I have proven this in the past many times.

I have a remanned Q-jet that was suppose to be "pre-tuned" from the factory. It seems to run great, idle is good too.

But if I let it idle for an extended period of time, it has a loss of power when I need to use it. It misses and won't rev over 3500 rpm in neutral. Not over 2000 under load. Every time, the same thing, I pull the plugs and they are all the same. An even film of black, dry, carbon. I replace the plugs and it runs and rev's great, awsome power. It only takes 1/2 hour of running slow on the trail and I have fouled the plugs again.

I have replaced everything in the ignition (HEI) so it is all new. I have new 8mm copper, double silicone insulated plug wires, rated for 600 degrees ($125), and I have installed another layer of insulation over them to insure that I'm not leaking spark.

I think that I'm just idling too rich.
    How do I adjust this thing?

I have the manuel bookmarked and it's too much information.

I'm looking for some real simple, 1. 2. 3. style instructions on how to adjust the idle mix screws w/o screwing the thing up.

Default fsjguy :

Re: Quadrajet is Idling too Rich? Basic adjustment
    Post by fsjguy on Apr 22, 2006, 9:17pm

Do you have a fuel return line? Does it work? The self adjusting fuel pumps often don't self adjust.

Default aaron871 :

Post by aaron871 on Apr 22, 2006, 9:21pm

I have a return line from the mechanical pump back to the tank.
    Do I need another one?

Default fsjguy :

Post by fsjguy on Apr 23, 2006, 11:12am