ForumsBasic TrainingOnline Maintenance ManualsThe M715 Zone Vin RegistryVPW's M715 Parts ListGalleriesLinks

Go Back   M715 Zone > General Tech > Modified Tech

Modified Tech Tech forums for Modified M715 series vehicles

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old February 25th, 2020, 06:43 PM
Nomad's Avatar
Nomad Nomad is offline
Civilian
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Georgia
Posts: 7
Nomad is a Soldier
Default Off/On switch wiring question

I'm in the process of putting a Kwik wire harness in my truck. It's been converted to 12v. The four wires coming off the switch are 11, 11, 27 and 12. 27 would be keyed power, 12 goes to the ballast & coil, and the 11 and 11 get power off of the alternator wire splice. My question is do I need to splice both 11s together or could I use one and cap off the other?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old February 25th, 2020, 07:57 PM
brute4c's Avatar
brute4c brute4c is offline
Grand Poobah
 
Join Date: Sep 1998
Location: North Central Wisconsin
Posts: 11,546
brute4c is a Soldier
Default

I would guess that it depends on how much you need to go to your new ignition switch or whatever you are connecting to the 2 #11 wires...how much draw they will have.

The factory wires are 14 gauge with thick insulation that is the same as 12 gauge wire...so whatever the max safe amp load for 14 gauge wire is what 1 stock #11 wire will flow...if you need more than that, use 2...

Hopwe that helps...
__________________
Lord send your Holy Ghost into our hearts and make the desire of our hearts Your Will.

Pro-choice, that's a LIE, babies don't choose to die!!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old March 24th, 2020, 07:01 PM
jeeper's Avatar
jeeper jeeper is offline
Sergeant
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Middleville, mi.
Posts: 1,325
jeeper is a Soldier
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nomad View Post
The four wires coming off the switch are 11, 11, 27 and 12. 27 would be keyed power, 12 goes to the ballast & coil, and the 11 and 11 get power off of the alternator wire splice. My question is do I need to splice both 11s together or could I use one and cap off the other?
May be too late on any helpful answer for you but future searches that land someone here may benefit from this anyway.

There are several "types" of on off switches. They are usually described by letter designations like SPST or DPST or even DPDT. What those letter signify is the pole and throw of the switch. SPST is a single pole single throw switch. For further clarification a "pole" is the number of circuits being switched. So a DPST means two separate poles open or close on a single throw of the switch. In this case you could have two separate circuits being controlled by a single switch.

DPDT would typically be an on off on type switch but could also be an on off momentary switch. It would typically be center off and on in either up or down position.

So after the somewhat lengthy explanation it depends on what type of switch you have. If you have a SPST switch then yes you can leave one number 11 capped off and unused.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old March 25th, 2020, 03:40 AM
Nomad's Avatar
Nomad Nomad is offline
Civilian
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Georgia
Posts: 7
Nomad is a Soldier
Default

Thanks for the reply Jeeper. I figured it out with some help from my multimeter.
I figured i would post my findings here to help someone in the future.
I should have made it clear in my first post, im referring to the factory ignition on/off switch.
YES, both #11 wires need to have power going to them. The way my factory m715 on/off switch is set up is that it has four holes that packard connectors seat into on the back of it, two #11 wires, a #12 wire, and a #27. The two #11 wires bring power into the switch, and carry it out on #12 & #27.
Each #11 wire supplys power exclusively to its adjacent wire, being either #12 or #27.

Last edited by Nomad; March 25th, 2020 at 05:05 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old March 25th, 2020, 06:40 PM
brute4c's Avatar
brute4c brute4c is offline
Grand Poobah
 
Join Date: Sep 1998
Location: North Central Wisconsin
Posts: 11,546
brute4c is a Soldier
Default

Thats interesting...I never checked it to see...makes sense now that you say it...so each out is limited to the power of a single in.
__________________
Lord send your Holy Ghost into our hearts and make the desire of our hearts Your Will.

Pro-choice, that's a LIE, babies don't choose to die!!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old March 26th, 2020, 08:48 AM
jeeper's Avatar
jeeper jeeper is offline
Sergeant
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Middleville, mi.
Posts: 1,325
jeeper is a Soldier
Default

I have to confess I wasn't actually thinking about the M715 on off switch when I made my reply. I was thinking about generic toggle switches because that was what was on my brain as I was replying. So apparently the military on off switch is a DPST.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:57 PM.

 

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
1998 - 2020


This site is owned and operated by:
M715 Zone, LLC
President: Jon Schmidt, User ID=brute4c
If you have any suggestions, comments, problems or questions, contact:  brute4c@m715zone.com

Use of this site means you understand and agree to our TERMS OF USE

Copyright Notice:
This web site is subject to the protection of the copyright laws of the United States and other countries. Except for Personal Use Only, you may not modify, copy, distribute, transmit, display, perform, reproduce, publish, license, create derivative works from, transfer, or sell any information obtained from any part of the M715 Zone website without the prior written permission of M715 Zone, LLC.

Written permission can only be obtained by contacting
brute4c@m715zone.com

Copyright 1998-2020