ForumsBasic TrainingOnline Maintenance ManualsThe M715 Zone Vin RegistryVPW's M715 Parts ListGalleriesLinks

Go Back   M715 Zone > General Tech > Modified Tech > Modified Tech Archives

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old February 1st, 2004, 09:39 AM
GND_PNDR GND_PNDR is offline
Basic Trainee
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Juniata,Nebraska
Posts: 37
GND_PNDR is an Observer
Default

I'M trany stupid. My 715 has a 350 chev and a T350 trans out of a 76 camero. My question is - what all is involved in putting a 700r4 behind the sbc or will it bolt right up, is there a difference between the 6 banger and v8 700r4s, my best guess would say the 700r4 is no more or less than a couple inches longer or shorter than the T350 am I correct? I don't have a 700r4 yet but I'm looking. Got one Email me. see wanted section.
  #2  
Old February 1st, 2004, 10:15 AM
poolmike poolmike is offline
Private 1st Class
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Richboro,Pennsylvania
Posts: 365
poolmike is a Soldier
Default M715 price question

The 700R4 is around 3" longer than a TH350. It should be the same bolt pattern.
  #3  
Old February 1st, 2004, 01:38 PM
tacoma tacoma is offline
Corporal
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Tooele UT
Posts: 674
tacoma is a Soldier
Default

It's longer, same bolt pattern. Get an older one w/out the electronic lockup. If you get a later one you'll need a standalone computer deal. I have one, needs to be rebuilt.
__________________
**I heart Bump_r **
  #4  
Old February 2nd, 2004, 10:42 AM
GND_PNDR GND_PNDR is offline
Basic Trainee
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Juniata,Nebraska
Posts: 37
GND_PNDR is an Observer
Default

what do you mean a stand alone computer deal? what do I need where to get it any thing else a dumbas$ like me needs to know.
oh and what does the electronic lockup,lockup?

Thanks Tacoma and anyone else who answers.
  #5  
Old February 2nd, 2004, 12:09 PM
brute4c's Avatar
brute4c brute4c is offline
Grand Poobah
 
Join Date: Sep 1998
Location: North Central Wisconsin
Posts: 11,485
brute4c is a Soldier
Default Just need to replace it...

The torque converter on that tranny will never lock up, for better fuel economy at higher speeds, without a signal from somewhere....unlike older converters that locked up manually at a given speed/gear point, the newer ones are controlled through the computer that runs the rest of the engine and drivetrain stuff. If your not running all the rest of the drivetrain, you wouldnt have the computer, so there would be nothing to send the converter the signal to lockup. Thus the stand alone computer...basically you end up with a box hooked to the system that locks and unlocks it automaticaly...many kits have a button that you can turn on and off to lock and unlock the converter manually...I would think this has obvious advantages for towing/heavy loads and other reasons.
I do not know where to get these, but if you look around the web and find places that rebuild/high perf build those trannies, most likely they will have the kits for the lockup as well, or links to someone who does.
brute4c
__________________
Lord send your Holy Ghost into our hearts and make the desire of our hearts Your Will.

Pro-choice, that's a LIE, babies don't choose to die!!
  #6  
Old February 2nd, 2004, 12:38 PM
GND_PNDR GND_PNDR is offline
Basic Trainee
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Juniata,Nebraska
Posts: 37
GND_PNDR is an Observer
Default

Thanks Brute. Hope your feeling better. I'll look around and see what I find.
  #7  
Old February 2nd, 2004, 01:14 PM
GND_PNDR GND_PNDR is offline
Basic Trainee
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Juniata,Nebraska
Posts: 37
GND_PNDR is an Observer
Default

ok guys here's the skinny-according to this site (and the only one I looked at so far) www.transmissioncenter.net/highperf700r4.htm you don't need the computer just a switch and some wire to lock up the tconverter.they sell this set up for $45 (yea right), they also sell a vacum switch and some other do-dads. warning this is a huge page so if you are on dail up give it a half hour or so. I think I will look some more and ask a few people about before I burn somthing up.

the part # is #12 about a 1/4 of the way down the page, also look at #60,#71
  #8  
Old February 2nd, 2004, 03:11 PM
Swampthang's Avatar
Swampthang Swampthang is offline
Private 1st Class
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: NorthEast Texas
Posts: 267
Swampthang is a Soldier
Default

Get a tranny from a '85 to 91 truck. 82-84 had a 7 instead of 10 vane pump and 92 and later were computer controlled. the non computer ones are easy to hook up. just be sure to get detent cable and carb bracket from donor veh. these trans have no vac. signal and use detent cable position to shift. B&M , Art Carr,and Summit sell the wiring kit to make them work right. you can even reuse your th350 output yoke
  #9  
Old February 2nd, 2004, 03:25 PM
Doug's Avatar
Doug Doug is offline
Das Fire Führer!
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Central Iowa
Posts: 1,586
Doug is a Soldier
Default

Jeff, mine is an 89. Just incase you were wondering.
__________________
This post is closed-captioned for the hearing impaired.
  #10  
Old February 2nd, 2004, 04:49 PM
the1968jeepthing the1968jeepthing is offline
Private
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 87
the1968jeepthing is a Soldier
Default

i have a 700r4 from an 89 firebird, works pretty good. i can go 60 no problem at 2500 rpm. ive had it up to 80 before, but wouldnt recomend it. anyway, it works good, but you need to either move the engine really far forward or fabricate a really small driveshaft to go between the t-case and the tranny. mine has an electronic speed sensor, which is not hooked up (i am still trying to figure out if it effects any engine control systems and such) and a lockup solinoid. if i remember correctly, you just have to run a switch between the lockup wire and ground. this will lock it up in all gears, as opposed to just over-drive which is how it works if it is connected to the computer. this is nice when going uphill in second or 3rd gear for a long time to avoid over-heating the transmission. and it WILL over heat on the highway or on heavy load if you dont use the lockup and a big auxilary trans. cooler, trans. temp. guage is an absolute must also. i cut the bottom red light out of my dash and it fits in perfect right there.

-BrianM
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
700r4 TV cable oddave Modified Tech 1 March 6th, 2010 03:12 PM
700R4/4l60 to np205 jlogan Modified Tech 1 April 18th, 2007 12:43 PM
question for 700r4/fuel inj. users or really smart guys the1968jeepthing Modified Tech Archives 10 January 27th, 2004 04:16 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:07 PM.

 

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
1998 - 2019


This site is owned and operated by:
M715 Zone, LLC
President: Jon Schmidt, User ID=brute4c
If you have any suggestions, comments, problems or questions, contact:  brute4c@m715zone.com

Use of this site means you understand and agree to our TERMS OF USE

Copyright Notice:
This web site is subject to the protection of the copyright laws of the United States and other countries. Except for Personal Use Only, you may not modify, copy, distribute, transmit, display, perform, reproduce, publish, license, create derivative works from, transfer, or sell any information obtained from any part of the M715 Zone website without the prior written permission of M715 Zone, LLC.

Written permission can only be obtained by contacting
brute4c@m715zone.com

Copyright 1998-2019